Vintage Favorites – Summer

1

Over the past year, I’ve tried to exert my energy toward avenues that offer fulfilling rewards. Throughout this process, I’ve come to recognize that this blog is a great passion of mine. It has been a tremendous gift, for it has allowed me to make time to write and explore my interests in all things vintage. It has also lead me to pursue courses in makeup artistry and photography which I hope can enhance my blog content both visually and artistically. Since becoming a makeup artist, I have taken lots of time to research different makeup and beauty brands that help create some of the vintage looks I love. I wanted to share some of the makeup tools and products I’ve started using and decided, why not share some of my favorite vintage finds throughout each month of the year. Broken down into five categories, here are my faves for August!

  1. Style – These sunglasses were the perfect find. I was on the hunt in July for retro-inspired shades that were vintage enough to remind me of past trends but also contemporary enough to wear every day. The shades I went with are Betsey Johnson brand and they perfectly suited my summer sunglasses criteria. When I wear these 50s style frames, I can’t help but be reminded of Rizzo and all the Pink Ladies. These frames also offer a modern sophisticated side. I love that the frames are classic black but have a fun detail on the sides. As an added bonus, they’re very comfortable and I can wear them all day while soaking in the sun.

4

  1. Makeup – The NYX Wonder Pencil has been a fabulous addition to my ever expanding makeup collection. The pencil is designed to act as an eyeliner, a concealer or lip liner. It comes in three shades, and with my complexion I chose the lightest of the three (light). I’ve used this product everyday on my lower eyelid and have found it great for an everyday dewy summer look. I’ve also used this product to add intensity to dramatic vintage looks. For $6.00 CAD, it has been a great investment.

3

7

NYX Wonder Pencil used in this 1930s makeup look to accentuate the lower eyelid
  1. Libations & Fare – As the seasons change, so do my tastes in vintage beverages. In my recent DIY project for a 1970s inspired cocktail party, I decided to make the classic Tequila Sunrise cocktail. What I love most about this cocktail is that visually it looks like summertime. This drink’s ingredients include tequila, OJ, grenadine and of course, maraschino cherries! When sipping this beverage I can’t help but want to put on some disco tunes.

6

  1. Wellness While boogying down to some classic grooves with a cocktail in hand can be fun, there’s something about those nights of complete tranquility that are so much more my speed. I’m a natural homebody that loves life’s simplicities. Over the past month, I’ve spent many of my evenings out on the patio with a peppermint tea. This ritual has become extra special as I’ve managed to cut down to just one coffee per day. Replacing my afternoon coffee with an evening tea has been a smooth transition. And there is no better reward than a cup of peppermint tea before bed. While this practice is not very vintage, the mug in which I have my tea adds a vintage touch. Patterned with butterflies that remind me of early 1990s dishware patterns, this vintage-inspired accessory goes hand in hand with my bedtime tea.

5

  1. Surprise – Last, but definitely not least, I wanted to share one of my all time favorite summer reads. I first read ‘When There’s a Will, There’s a Way’ by Laurie Maguire, Ph.D. about ten years ago. It’s a self help book that discusses how all of life’s lessons can be learned through Shakespeare’s writings. As it’s been about ten years since I last read the book, I thought I’d read through it again this summer to reflect on my life back then versus now.

2

So those are some of favorites for this month. Be sure to check back in September for more vintage favorites. Please let me know in the comments below if there’s a specific category you would like read more of, or if a book review on When There’s a Will, There’s a Way would be something you would be interested in.

I’d also like to say a big thank you to everyone for visiting Fanciful Impressions; it means so much to me that you take the time to read my posts. If you are new to this blog, I invite you to check out earlier posts where you will find vintage stories, makeup inspiration, DIY projects and lifestyle discussions from a vintage and reflective perspective. You can subscribe to Fanciful Impressions by clicking ‘Follow’ in the link on the top right.

-Meg

Leave a Reply

