It’s Official… I’m a Makeup Artist

3

Over the past few months, I’ve dedicated my time towards obtaining my makeup artist certification. The course was a three month semester and gave me a solid foundation in the art of makeup application. Throughout the course, I couldn’t believe just how much I didn’t know about the hobby that I hold so dear. Last week, I got confirmation that I had passed the final exam and my certification papers were ready to pick up.

2

So I went to pick up my certificate and then I thought – now what? I have my diploma, but how do I begin what I hope to be a freelance business? Here are a couple of things I’ve learned so far while starting this new career adventure.

1. Presentation is Key – Clients want to have confidence in their makeup artist. If you’re showing up to a bridal makeup trial in sweat pants, it gives off an image that is unprofessional. You wouldn’t show up to an office job like that, so why present yourself shabbily to a client for your very own business

I’ll dress respective to the requested style and makeup look of the client. If I’m doing a bridal look, I’ll present myself in a natural and business casual look. If the look I’m doing is an evening look, I’ll add some edge to my uniform either with some cool eye shadow or a funky piece of jewelry. A note on uniforms: I always wear black. It’s typically the uniform for this industry.

In addition to presentation during a booking, I also try to maintain a healthy and balanced lifestyle to keep myself fit and fresh! I’ve developed a good skin care routine, make sure to get enough sleep, nutrients and exercise.

12

2. Network, Network, Network – The other day, I was at an event and a woman I was chatting with complimented me on my makeup and lipstick. I bashfully thanked her for the compliment and changed the conversation back to the original topic. After the fact, I realized that I had an opportunity to gear the conversation into the direction of my business and missed the chance! I could have let the person know the brand and type of lipstick it was and what I liked about the brand. I could have slowly led the conversation from there to eventually handing out a business card. The skill of networking takes time, but I’m learning as I go! Perhaps there are tips you could share with me?

110

3. Research & Know Your Brands – As I’m new to this industry, I’m still in the phase of researching and testing different products.

5

The objective of this is to become more knowledgeable about how each product works and feels. So I don’t break the bank, I’ve been trying to only buy a couple of new products every couple of weeks or so.

10

So those are some tips I have so far. I hope these tips are helpful if you are considering becoming a freelance makeup artist or are considering freelance work in general. As I continue to learn and grow in this adventure, I’ll make sure to continue to share my experience throughout the process and invite you all to share your tips in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “It’s Official… I’m a Makeup Artist

  1. Congrats! Wish you all the best in this new path. Proud of you for trying something new, and as it happens you’re clearly very talented!
    You’re definitely in my reference books for TO/MTL.

  2. Congratulations! This could turn out to be loads of fun. Definitely brings out the artistic side in you!!!

  3. Congrats! Really happy for you! Hope you will have a very successful career. I will definitely give you as a reference if I hear people needing a makeup artist in the Toronto area. Take care.

Leave a Reply

