A Vintage & Vegan Coffee Cake

When I started writing this blog entry, all I could hear were the random creaks of metal coming from the kitchen stove. Set at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, I was baking what I hoped would be a successful homage to my family’s delicious coffee cake recipe.

Coffee Cake6

If you missed my last blog post, I shared some memories of my childhood. My Mother would always bake fresh coffee cake for house guests. After recalling the fond moments around the kitchen table of my childhood home, and the pieces of cake served to family visitors, I decided that I wanted to continue the tradition that my Mother has kept for all these years: baking cake for welcomed company.

My Mum’s coffee cake recipe has seen a few changes over the years. Originally a recipe that called for sour cream, she eventually replaced the high fat ingredient with low-fat sour cream. More recently, Greek yogurt is the ingredient of choice, a healthier option. What’s interesting, is that though we wish to preserve the past, recipes, much like traditions need to evolve. One thing I’ve realized from starting this blog is that many of the vintage recipes I have found and tried are very high in calories. They call for ingredients that are high in preservatives and sodium. For the past six months or so, I’ve been trying to only bake with non-dairy ingredients. So you will imagine my concern when I saw the original recipe called for sour cream, butter and eggs. Luckily, I was able to replace the dairy ingredients and revise the original recipe with vegan substitutes:

Vegan Coffee Cake Recipe

Ingredients: ½ Cup Avocado, 1 Cup Sugar, ½ Cup Unsweetened Applesauce, 1 Tbsp Baking Soda, ¾ Cup of Coconut Yogurt (Dairy Free), 1 Tsp Vanilla Extract, 1 Tbsp Cinnamon, ¼ Cup Brown Sugar, ¾ Cup of crushed Pecans

Directions:

1. In a bowl, mix avocado and sugar. Add sugar gradually and mix well.

2. Stir in all remaining ingredients and mix well.

3. In a separate bowl, mix brown sugar, cinnamon and crushed pecans.

4. Pour the batter into a round cake pan and sprinkle the brown sugar, cinnamon and pecan mixture over the top.

Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 35 – 45 minutes depending on oven.


Once I completed the draft for this blog, the cooking time for my vegan cake had come and gone. As the words were written onto the pages of my notebook, my house slowly became filled with the scent of cinnamon. A good sign. When the cake was fully cooked, I took it out of the oven to let it cool and eventually removed the cake from the cake pan onto my cake stand. It looked great, but was it edible?

Coffee Cake3

Thanks to some good friends (and trusty taste testers), I was relieved to discover that this altered version of a family favorite recipe was not a disaster but instead delicious. It was not baked in a retro baking pan, nor did it use the original ingredients. It did however, bring back memories of my childhood. My friends and I sat around the kitchen table indulging in stimulating conversation, laughter and of course, coffee and cake.

Coffee Cake5

Leave a Reply

