Victorian Era Kitchen Transformation – Part 1

Victorian Kitchen 5

Before

The time has come to re-decorate my kitchen. In its present state, my kitchen space is plain and quite small. There’s limited counter space, no natural light and the beige off-white paint color is uninspiring. However, I’ve decided that despite these characteristics, it does not mean that this kitchen has no potential. And so, with keeping with my ‘nineties’ theme this week, I thought, why not design my kitchen after decor trends of the 1890s.

Before we go back and talk about this period in history, I wanted to share with you one of my favorite movies from the nineties. Women of my age group can probably agree that the film Practical Magic is high up on the chick flick list. The story of sisterhood, magic and romance is a classic film. For those of you who have seen the film, while it takes place in modern times, the house in which the good witches of the film reside is in a beautiful old Victorian home. If you remember the scene where the witches stay up late one night drinking margaritas, film viewers get an overhead aerial shot of the characters’ home and historic kitchen. When I first watched the film, back when I was only fourteen, I knew that when I grew up I wanted a kitchen just like that one. A kitchen complete with white cupboards and rustic wood counter tops … a girl can dream right?

I recently watched the film again around Halloween this year and couldn’t help but think that I could turn my modest kitchen into a vintage cooking space. Looking at some of the designs of kitchens from the late eighteen hundreds, I realized that the set decor of my favorite nineties film was pretty accurate. Kitchens before the turn of the century were often either natural white or rustic shades of blue or green. As my kitchen is already painted beige, I’ve decided to add some crisp white accents to my kitchen along with some copper and/or brass accessories. Here are some of the ideas I have so far:

  1. First and foremost, de-cluttering and organizing the space. It’s time to get rid of those old dishes and coffee mugs I never use.
  2. I’ve decided to try the new and trendy chalk paint to paint the interior trim of my cupboards in a clean and crisp white paint color.
  3. Lastly, I’ve been looking for some accent pieces for the kitchen. So far, my finds include a Victorian desk and a brass mirror for the corner of the space.

Victorian Kitchen 2

Check back with Fanciful Impressions in a few weeks to see the completed design!

Leave a Reply

