Vegan Eats Disguised as Medieval Treats

FullSizeRender (14)

With Thanksgiving here I know that it will only be a matter of days until we have the first snow fall. When I think of the period hundreds of years ago known as medieval times, I always picture those who lived in that time surrounded by that same cold weather day in and day out.

Picture the banquets laid out between the cold stone walls of a kingdom’s castle, where the main course would be reliant on the success of the hunt the previous day. The walls would be insulated with warm hued tapestries. In colors of gold and red, among other royal patterns it would be these tapestries that would combat the cold and drafty nights in each kingdom.

Recently, I decided to make some recipes that reflected the medieval era. For the first time, I decided to make vegan recipes and I thought what better way to try out vegan food when I could pretend that the menu was a reflection of one of my favorite periods in western history? I made carrot potage and corn on the cob, served with toasted country bread.

Carrot Potage

Carrot soup is one of my favorite fall recipes. One time we served it as an appetizer for Thanksgiving dinner. However, my recipe has always included butter. For this recipe, I replaced the butter used with Coconut Oil and Coconut Milk. For the chicken stock used, I used vegetable stock instead:

Ingredients

  • ¼ Cup of Coconut Milk
  • 1 Cup Chopped White Onion
  • 1 Pound Large Carrots, peeled and cut into ½ inch pieces
  • 2 ½ of Broth using Vegetable Stock
  • 2 teaspoons of Cumin
  • 1 Tb of Maple Syrup
  • 1 teaspoon of fresh lemon juice
  • ¼ teaspoon of curry
  • 1 Tb of Coconut Oil

Directions

Using a medium-large pot, melt the Coconut Oil over medium-high heat. Add onion and sauté for two minutes. Once the onions are transparent, add carrots, coconut milk and spices and mix all ingredients. Add water and vegetable stock and bring to boil. Once boiling, reduce heat and cover. Leave the mixture to simmer for about 20-25 minutes.

Remove the soup from heat and let cool for about 10 minutes. Puree with a hand blender until smooth. Once smooth, stir in maple syrup and lemon juice.

Bread & Corn

I served the soup hot in these beautiful ceramic bowls I found that even looked as though they were from many years ago. I served the soup with boiled corn on the cob. Instead of using butter on the corn, I made a maple butter mixture using maple syrup and vegan butter. For the country bread, I toasted the bread in the oven with a drizzle of olive oil and dried oregano.

Now that I’ve tried my first vegan recipe; for Thanksgiving dinner I’ve begun working on some more medieval treats; vegan apple raspberry pies. I will have pictures up soon so if you are new to Fanciful Impressions, I invite you to visit again soon for my next medieval times inspired recipe!

FullSizeRender (15)

Leave a Reply

