Vinyl Décor

Vinyl

Simply put, decorating a home is an expensive venture. Appliances and basic furniture aside, there is a growing need in our society today for a home to be aesthetically pleasing. Though homes of the past were strictly for conventional purposes, today the placement of furniture, color palettes and amount of clutter can separate a house from a home.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve never want my house to look cold and I can’t stand when clutter builds up to the point where in every corner of the room there is a pile of dry cleaning or DVDs. At the same time however, I am opposed to breaking the piggy bank so that my living space can look like something out of a Pottery Barn catalog. In such a wasteful society, I try my best to accessorize the home with items that are second-hand. No, not everything matches, but you end up with an eclectic living space, with both contemporary and vintage pieces.

Recently at a friend’s house, I couldn’t help but notice that one of the walls was decorated with original album covers from the sixties to the eighties. I loved that they created a decorated space that was (1) second-hand and (2) affordable. I immediately loved their vintage style. Before heading over to your favorite home décor store, I recommend checking out the second-hand shops for ways to accessorize the new digs. You never know where you can find exactly what you are looking for at a more affordable price. What are your vintage home designs? 

 

